Friendship · Prompt/Challenge Response · Slice of Life

Resolutions

She hated resolutions, but for the first time, she agreed to participate in the painful process. Mostly to shut her best friend up, who rambled nonstop about it once a year.

An hour later, she had an empty cup of coffee – and an equally empty piece of paper.

Her phone rang.

“Happy happy happyyyyyy new year!”

“Hey. Happy new year to you, too.”

A moment of silence. “What’s wrong? It’s a new year, aren’t you excited?”

She sighed. “Resolutions are hard.”

“Oh… Oh! You actually did it? I’m so happy for you! So, how long is your list? I did mine last night and I have 37 items! Although I also included goals and plans… I think those should count. It’s my list after all.”

She sighed. “I still have nothing. I told you, I’m no good at this. I’ll just have to see what the universe throws at me this year and work through it.”

“So if bad things happen, you’re just going to lie down and accept them with open arms?”

“Why not? The storm can’t possibly go on for a year, it’s going to die down sooner or later. Nothing lasts forever.”

“Nothing lasts forever!” Her best friend burst into laughter. “Okay, fine. You have a point. But I still think you’re afraid of commitment.”

She put away her paper and pen. “Let’s just… agree to disagree. Come over for lunch?”

“Be there in five.”

 

via Daily Prompt: Year


This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

4 thoughts on “Resolutions

Leave a Reply

