Prompt/Challenge Response · Romance · Slice of Life

Confession

stocksnap_v8yb1ph7w5

Hey.

I have some confessions to make.

First: I’ve dubbed you The Boy With The Awkward Smile. Not because I don’t know your name (I do, actually, mother’s maiden name and all – oops!) but because it’s so much easier to talk to my girl friends that way.  “Him” is a little too vague, and so is “that guy.”

Second: I didn’t like you at first. More of, I didn’t know you existed. Mostly because I was busy trying to get myself noticed by the hottest guy in campus, and you were content with dissolving into the shadows. And then when we got paired up in science class, you proceeded to intimidate me with your smarts. How was I to match up with that? Back then all I could talk about were OOTDs and Instagram.

Third: I have no idea how it happened, but I like you now. Like, really really like you. Maybe it’s all those library hours or the walks home after detention or something. Like water seeping through the cracks in my walls, you just, well, grew on me. Your awkward smile, your silly laugh, the way your eyes shine when we talk about physics and Marvel and life on other planets, how you always pick up your phone when I call you at three in the morning in tears (even if The Exorcism of Emily Rose already scarred you for life).

You and I, we both unraveled, I think. And I really don’t mind so much.

So do you like me

I just want to know, do you feel the same

Are you seeing someone

Do you want to go out 

So, yeah. That’s about it. Just needed to clear my head and you’ve been in it a lot, so… yeah.

~The Girl With Two Left Feet

PS. But if there’s the tiniest chance that you might, in some form that doesn’t destroy the fabric of space-time, like me back… will you let me know? Don’t make me bargain.

 

via Daily Prompt: Percolate


This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

Leave a Reply

