Fantasy · Prometheus' Fire Universe · Prompt/Challenge Response

Message

stocksnap_a08a9beb33

I put my hand against the bark. It was warm, like it remembered.

Well, maybe it did.

I was surprised the tree was still alive. After all, I was certain it had been an awfully long time, because nothing here looked, sounded or felt familiar. Something had been unleashed upon the world, a force dark and violent and destructive, and it had warped the terrain into something unrecognizable, almost alien.

Yet in the midst of the wilderness stood this strange tree – strong, tall and beautiful, the only visible living thing for miles around. I could see why it had become the stuff of legend, the people of this age calling it the World Tree.

My fingers found indentations on the bark that felt too geometric to be natural, and I leaned in for a closer look. What I saw took my breath away.

They were numbers.

At first I couldn’t make out what exactly they were supposed to be, but the longer I stared, the clearer I could see the faint traces of magic within the lines. Most days I cursed my Sight, but today I was grateful for it.

I was looking at coordinates. Dates. A code of some sort, but nothing I couldn’t crack.

And the magic’s signature was his. He’d been here, to the tree.

Our tree.

For the first time in a long time, hope seized my heart, and I wept with joy.


via Discover Challenge: Numbers | set in the Prometheus’ Fire universe | other PF stories: Rendezvous • Bottomless • In Plain Sight • Exhibit • Errand


This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

5 thoughts on “Message

    1. Hey Josh, thanks for dropping by and reading! 🙂

      Oh, you’re not alone. I also want to know more (maybe it’s just how we artists are), but I like short stories because they don’t take up too much time to read.

      This story is part of the fantasy novel series I’m working on now, though, so I’ll hopefully have something longer to share in the future 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome, and yes it definitely is a trait of an artist to strive to fulfill one’s curiosity.

        I look forward to that and if the short stories are anything to go by, it’s bound to be a great novel series!

        Like

Leave a Reply

