Prompt/Challenge Response · Self · Slice of Life

Different

“Is there anything that excites you at all?”

I mulled over the question, unsure how to answer. Of course I get excited. Over food, for one. And figuring out solutions to complicated number problems.

But I figured that wasn’t what my friend wanted to hear. She was an artist, and she was passionate about her craft. There wasn’t a day when she didn’t have a brush on hand, painting even in the weirdest of places – I mean, who paints in a bar?

Everyone else in our circle was just as passionate. One was so crazy about fitness, she went vegan. Another quit her job to travel the world.

And then there’s me.

“Do you really love your job so much?” my friend prompted when I didn’t answer her.

I sucked in a breath. No, I didn’t. It was driving me nuts. And I certainly didn’t like churning twelve, fourteen hours a day. But what choice did I have? I had to get things done. I wasn’t a quitter, especially when I’d already invested so much of my time, sweat and tears. Even if I’d rather be doing something else.

Maybe it was a different kind of passion.

And with the way she was looking at me, I knew she wouldn’t understand.

 

viaย Daily Prompt: Passionate


This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the authorโ€™s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

4 thoughts on “Different

  1. There isn’t a day I go without thinking along the same lines. Incredibly relevant to blogging and freelancing career paths.
    I feel that the majority of writers are misunderstood. We have a passion for writing that other people don’t seem to understand. It’s both work and a hobby but most people just relate it to…essay writing ๐Ÿ˜
    I guess I can understand their confusion.

    Very well written to make me so introspective!

    Like

    1. Hey Nam, thanks so much for dropping by, and I’m glad this got you thinking ๐Ÿ™‚

      I guess it’s just usually hard to understand passions that aren’t our own. Like you said, perhaps most non-writers see writing as just essaying, blogging as just money-making – when it’s totally something different for us who are into it. And even those of us who are into it are driven by different reasons. I for one have a rather idealistic dream for my writing… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      By the way, I haven’t read your posts yet, but I just have to say I love your “explore your fiction, love your reality” tagline ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Me too, and I find it fairly challenging and interesting. Challenging because of my own biases, so I’m predisposed to certain things… although I do my best not to say that out loud ๐Ÿ˜‰ At the same time, it’s truly interesting to learn more about what other people enjoy and why they enjoy them.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

